Glasgow Triathlon Club

Swimming, Cycling, Running. We do it best!

Coaches & committee

GTC coaches

Glasgow Triathlon Club has a dedicated team of qualified, enthusiastic and experienced coaches. The coached club sessions offer a focused, year-round training programme for all abilities.

We are always happy to help members to gain Triathlon Scotland qualifications so that they can further assist with the coaching of the club’s sports sessions.

Please take a look at this blog to find out more about what each of the three levels of qualification mean.

See the Squad Coaches page.


Vicky Begg, Head Coach

Level 3 Triathlon Coach ; Triathlon Scotland Tutor (Level 1, Level 2); MSc Psychology of Sport

Vicky has more than 25 years of triathlon experience – and a wealth of coaching knowledge. She has personally achieved some great sporting results, including a gold in the World Age Group Sprint Triathlon Championships. Her coaching philosophy is that you can always be better than you imagine.

Email: Head Coach

Other Level 3 Triathlon coaches

Sean Webster ( and Rose McIlwhan ( ).

Level 2 Triathlon coaches

Jo Gemmell, Hannah Kemlo, Alan Kennedy, John Lund, Duggie Mac.

Level 1 Triathlon coaches

Craig Armour, Craig Bathgate, Billy Cameron, Mike Donaldson, Paul Gallagher, Vivienne Gough, Nick Green, Cameron Mackie, Ian Ramage, Craig Ross, Matt Skilling, Nial Smith, Lochlan O’ Sullivan, Iain Todd, David Wilson, Alastair Young.

Billy Mitchell, Youth section head coach

Level 3 Triathlon Coach award and Level 3 Endurance (Event Group) Running Coach award.

Billy is the Lead coach for the GTC youth section. He has held the position of junior section lead at Stirling Triathlon Club and in 2016, he was awarded the accolades of British Triathlon Coach of the Year and Triathlon Scotland’s Children’s Coach of the Year.

As well as working with GTC, Billy  plays a role with Scottish Pentathlon as co-ordinator of the Stirling Hub. He also works for other NGBs, schools and has many individual clients.

Other youth coaches

Level 2 Triathlon Coach

Jack Peasgood

Level 1 Triathlon Coach

Mike Donaldson,  Lucy Robertson, Matt Skilling

Swim teacher
Rosa Sims, Scott Murdoch
Find out more details about the triathlon coaching qualifications.

GTC committee

The club relies on a volunteer committee to steer it forward and for general support.

President: Sean Webster

Sean has been taking part in triathlons, across all distances, since 1993. He joined the club in 2001 and has formerly held the position of secretary. He says: “I want our club to be the friendliest triathlon club in Scotland. We welcome athletes of all standards and we are constantly striving to improve the experiences we give to our members.”

Welfare Officer: Contact Jen MacPhee at

Secretary: Derek Sommerville

Treasurer: Bob Newton

Committee members

David Wilson, Cat Padmanabhan, Viv Gough, Jane Grant, Catherine McNeil, Rachel Hunt.

Scroll Up